Soldiers of Salamis | Writing Styles, Rule of Four, and Ethics

Hey Everyone, 

Writing this week’s blog post has been the absolute worst for me. To start off, I read and completed my blog post for next week by accident. Then, WordPress stopped working. Anyways, I found this reading really interesting. I finished it in about 3 separate sittings (with some short breaks on my phone), one for each section. I found it really confusing to switch between the sections, as the change in narration (and the style of writing) had caught me off guard. The first and third sections in particular reminded me of reading qualitative research papers with snippets of interviews in them. However, it was much more enjoyable because we (readers) got to know what the narrator was doing. 

The hardest section for me to read was the second one. If I’m being honest, I spent most of it skimming rather than reading because I would skip over long names, dates, and places, leaving me very little to actually read. This is a very bad habit of mine as I end up getting confused although every time I try to pay attention to them, I get lost anyways. While the style of the second section was a much more effective way to get information since there’s less reading and more information, the first and third section were a lot more exciting to read. It makes me wonder why Cercas (the author, not the narrator), chose to write in both styles rather than stay consistent with one. I think the reason why the first and third section was more interesting was that it is two stories merged into one: the first is following Cercas (the narrator, not the author) around as he interviews and discovers more about Mazas’ life, and the second is following Maza’s story. 

One thing I noticed in this book is that it really goes against the rule of three. When learning English, I learned that writing in three’s is more effective or pleasing to readers. However, two examples near the end are “…even though for many years they’d been dead, dead, dead” (363), and “…not really caring as long as it’s onwards, onwards, onwards, ever onwards” (365). I wonder if in Spanish there is a rule of four instead, as different languages have their own rules. 

After watching the video lecture by Professor Beasley-Murray, I spent a lot of time thinking about reality and fiction. My question to you this week piggybacks off his to us: from a moral standpoint, is writing with some truth but some fiction, even with a disclaimer that the text is a work of fiction, ethical? While this specific ‘novel’ is not harming anyone, we know that spreading false information that is damaging to a person’s reputation is called “defamation of character”. Therefore, I ask whether the intertwining of truth and fiction could result in such issues.

8 responses to “Soldiers of Salamis | Writing Styles, Rule of Four, and Ethics”

  1. Hey!
    You have a good eye for having noticed that three word repetition. I didn’t realize it at first, but as you mentioned, I can recall instances of repetition that did indeed break it. I think from now on, I’ll keep an eye out for such patterns as they could actually be intentional by the author, thus proving to be quite useful when analyzing.
    – Vidushi Singh

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi.
    The language I have spoken my whole life is Spanish and I did not know about the existence of a rule of three or rule of four. But now that you have mentioned it, I will try to look for information about that as it would be nice to know if there is such a difference and also why it exists.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I find it interesting that you preferred the sections about Cercas over those of Sanchez Mazas as I personally preferred the second section. While I certainly loved the book, I do think that Cercas is a less interesting character than Sanchez Mazas and therefore his sections felt a little dull in comparison. I also have the same issue with glossing over names and places too so you’re not alone on that front

    Liked by 1 person

    1. – Lucas Ribeiro

      Like

      1. Hey there Lucas! Thank you for your comment. I have noticed that the class is pretty divided about which section they liked more. I wonder what factors are at play here! Maybe those of us who prefer history and non-fiction would prefer the second section? I think that I might have picked up my skimming habit through reading textbooks, where I’m trying to understand concepts and neglect the parts that I feel won’t be texted. Or maybe it has to do with the fact that when we learn to read in school, they teach us to skip the words that we don’t know and try and find context?

        Like

  4. ‘we know that spreading false information that is damaging to a person’s reputation is called “defamation of character”’

    This is a good question, and surely part of the reason why the book has on its copyright page a quasi-legal disclaimer to say that it does not pretend to be the truth… books and films have these as a sort of hedge to prevent their authors from being sued.

    NB of the main characters, two of the three of them (Sánchez Mazas and Miralles) were dead by the time the book was published. But I’m interested as to what Bolaño thought… my friend Ryan Long sent me an interview with Bolaño in which it didn’t look like he was much impressed by Cercas’s approach. But I guess he didn’t feel “defamed.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Professor Beasley-Murray,

      I finally got my blog to work… I wonder if Mazas and Miralles’ deaths matter in this case. That is, does a person’s death justify slandering them? I sure hope that when I die that no one would write false things about my life. Thank you for commenting about the interview, that’s interesting to know! I also wonder if Bolaño’s response to this had to do with his relationship with Cercas as if they had some kind of feud he may not be as impressed. Overall, I am enjoying how much we can incorporate philosophy into this course!

      Like

      1. Yeah, I have to say that I don’t really think either Sánchez Mazas or Miralles were slandered… not least because I’m sure that people have said much worse things about Sánchez Mazas over the years.

        As for philosophy… for sure! That certainly interests me. And I think that what Cercas has to say about the moment between Sánchez Mazas and (maybe) Miralles is pure Spinoza…

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started